Office of Diversity and Inclusion

You are here

The Kellen Junior Faculty Fellowship Recipients 2019

January 30, 2019

Radhika Sundararajan, MD, PhD;  Megan Shen, PhD; Jana Ivanidze, MD, PHD; Diana Morales, PhD; Natalia DeMarco, PhD

The Kellen Junior Faculty Fellowship provides $50,000 in research support to exceptional female junior faculty at Weill Cornell Medicine. Five awards are given annually. Now in its fifth year, the grant was established in 2015 with a $1.25 million gift from the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation. The goal is to provide female junior faculty with funding so that they can establish a scientific track record and succeed in independent research. This award strengthens the pipeline of outstanding female junior faculty who can ultimately be promoted to a higher academic rank at WCM. The 2019 Kellen Junior Faculty Fellowship Recipients are:

  • Megan Shen, Assistant Professor of Psychology in Medicine

Project Title: Media Communication Intervention to Increase Engagement in Advance Care Planning among Advanced Cancer Patients

  • Radhika Sundararajan, Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine

Project Title: A novel approach to community-based HIV testing with traditional healers in Mwanza, Tanzania

  • Jana Ivanidze, Assistant Professor of Radiology

Project Title: PET Imaging of Tau Deposition, Amyloid-Beta Accumulation, and Region-Specific Glucose Metabolism in Alzheimer Disease: Correlation with Matrix Metalloproteinase 9 Cerebrospinal Fluid Levels

  • Natalia DeMarco, Assistant Professor of Neuroscience

Project Title: Genetic and environmental mechanisms underlying autism spectrum disorders

  • Diana Morales, Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Project Title: Metabolic Programs Driving Enterococcal Invasion and Pathogenesis

Office of Diversity and Inclusion 1300 York Avenue New York, NY 10065